Your browser is not supported, please update your browser.

Tile Tips Blog Horizontal
December 23, 2019

Tile Tips - How to Share Your Tile With Another Person

Tile helps you find your belongings, but did you know Tile can help you stay connected with your friends and family too?

As part of our new series, "Tile Tips", we're sharing stories where we feature some of the lesser-known features of Tile like sharing, changing your ringtone, or using your Tile for multiple items. Our hope is that this series will help you to worry less about where you last left your belongings, so you can enjoy life more.

Tip #1: How to share your Tile with another person

Every Tile user can share their Tile with one other person, and Tile Premium subscribers can share with an unlimited amount of people. But why share?

By sharing your Tile, you’re recruiting additional finders to join your personal search party! Trusted family and friends can help you locate your Tile by ringing it, seeing its location on the map, or activating the Tile community. 

IMPORTANT: Only share your Tile with people you know. By sharing your Tile with another person, you’re giving them access to your Tile’s location. 

There are two ways to share your Tile. Our step-by-step instructions and super-cool GIFs below will show you how: 

Manually enter the email of the user you are sharing with:

         

> Tap on the ellipsis (three dots) on the Tile you want to share

> Click "Share" on the menu that pops up

> Type in the email address of the person you want to invite to share your Tile and click "Share" in the upper-righthand corner

> A small "Shared" icon will appear on the Tile card, indicating that it's been shared!

The person you’ve invited to share your Tile with will automatically have the same access to it as you do.


Share your Tile's Share Link:

> Tap on the ellipsis (three dots) on the Tile you want to share

> Click "Share Tile" on the menu that pops up

> Select "Share a Link"

> Your phone's menu will pop up with different options to share the link. Simply copy the link and paste it into a message or email for your friend or family member to use.

> Once the recipient clicks the link, the Tile app will open on their device and the Tile will be automatically shared. It may take some time for the app to catch up, so try refreshing the home screen by swiping down on it.

*Please be aware that only one person can be connected to a Tile at a time, so if both of you are within Bluetooth range of the same Tile, it will automatically connect to the device that it’s closest to. 


The sharing feature can be helpful for couples or families tracking shared items (e.g. TV remote, dog leash), or if Dad constantly loses his keys and the whole family can help track it down. It’s also a useful feature for businesses -- they can share Tiles amongst employees to monitor cargo, vehicles and other equipment within the company. 

For more info on Tile sharing, check out the support page here. Do you have a #TileTip to share? Tell us on Twitter or Instagram and we’ll feature your tip in an upcoming post! 

Also be sure to check out ...